COVENTRY AWARD OF MERIT – PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS

<u>1966</u>

Mr Stanley Ashby, Godiva Harriers official and former Olympic runner

Sir Donald Gibson, first Coventry Architect and Planning Officer

Professor J W Linnett FRS, Professor of Physical Chemistry at Cambridge University

Miss M R Paton MBE, Superintendent, St Faith's Shelter, Coventry City Council

Air Commodore Sir Frank Whittle KBE, Inventor of the jet engine.

<u>1970</u>

Mr Derrick H Robins, former President, Coventry City Football Club

Sir Basil Spence OBE, architect and designer of Coventry Cathedral

Sir William Lyons, President, Jaguar Cars-British Leyland UK Ltd

Dr H Parry Williams, former Consultant Child Specialist, Coventry Hospital Group

Mrs A L Galpine JP, former Chairman of Coventry Magistrates' and Coventry Juvenile Court

<u>1978</u>

Rt Revd Cuthbert Bardlsey CBE, Bishop of Coventry from 1956 to 1976

Professor Joan Browne CBE, JP – Principal, Coventry College of Education 1948 to 1975

Mr Jack Jones MBE, General Secretary, Transport and General Workers' Union

Mr Phillip Larkin CBE, Poet and Librarian of the University of Hull

Mr Walter Chinn OBE, Director of Education for Coventry from 1947 to 1969

Sir Stanley Harley DL, industrialist, Managing Director, Coventry Gauge and ~Tool Ltd

<u>2002</u>

Sir John Egan, Chairman of Jaguar Cars Limited

Professor Sir Brian Follett FRS, Vice-Chancellor, University of Warwick Reverend Canon Nerissa Jones MBE, Vicar of St Chad's Church, Wood End Reverend Canon Dr Paul Oestreicher, peace and reconciliation, Coventry Cathedral Right Honourable Sir Philip Otton, Lord Justice of Appeal Councillor Tom White CBE, first Director of Social Services in the UK

<u>2011</u>

Gary Croshaw, West Midlands Police Special Constabulary Joe Elliott, Coventry City Football Club, sports and charity Professor Sudhesh Kumar, University of Warwick Medical School David Moorcroft OBE, Olympic athlete Councillor John Mutton, International Children's Games Les Ratcliffe, Community Relations, Jaguar Land Rover

<u>2013</u>

The Right Honourable Bob Ainsworth MP

Professor Madeleine Atkins DL CBE, Vice Chancellor of Coventry University

Professor Lord Kumar Bhattacharyya KB CBE, Founder of Warwick Manufacturing Group

Coventry Rape and Sexual Abuse Centre

Mr Courtenay Griffiths QC

Councillor Tim Sawdon

Dr Abdullah Shehu FRCP

<u>2015</u>

David Burbidge OBE DL

Councillor Ann Lucas OBE

Ms Betty McGlinchey

Mr Ratan N Tata GBE & Jaguar Land Rover

Councillor Ken Taylor OBE

The Most Reverend and Rt Hon Justin Welby, Archbishop of Canterbury

<u>2018</u>

Mr Kerry Blakeman Councillor George Duggins Mrs Jane Frankish Mr Roger Medwell MBE DL Mr Richard Stanton MBE GM